Community Impact Award

2017 Community Impact Award Recipient Rosie Shearwood. 

Rosie Shearwood is pictured with Mayor Anne McKibbin on October 10, 2017. 

Rosie was honored for her dedication to Eagle and participation in numerous issues and committees. Read Rosie's nomination here. Vail Daily article Randy Wyrick, October 22, 2017.

Rosie and Anne

A plaque in honor of Rosie will be placed at the Brush Creek Pavilion. 

Brush Creek Valley Plaque

2016 Winner - Mick Daly

Eagle Community Impact Award (from Eagle Chamber of Commerce)

Chamber President Mick Daly is the recipient of the 2016 Town of Eagle's Community Impact Award that was presented at the Eagle Vision 20/20 program at Eagle Town Hall on October 5.

Mick Daly was recognized for his dedication to the town's and its business community's success. His nomination included comments from twenty people who echoed his tireless dedication in facilitating conversations regarding the town's future, creating a co-working space in Eagle or the Eagle River Corridor Project Plan; he cares deeply about Eagle and the community.

When Daly is not spending time on his community interests, he and his wife Jenny are the owners of Juice Plus+, a healthy lifestyle franchise.

Daly is the third recipient of the award. In 2014, the award went to Scott Turnipseed and Chris Cook for their efforts to bring the Colorado High School Cycling League state championship race to Eagle.

The 2015 Community Impact Award was awarded to John Shipp, owner of Roadhouse Hospitality Group. Shipp was recognized for his strong support of the community and local nonprofits, as well as for the creation and management of simpatiCOworking, above the Dusty Boot.

Also nominated for the 2016 Community Impact Award were Yvonne Schwartz owner of Yoga Off Broadway and former Eagle Mayor Yuri Kostick.

Past Winners

2015 - John Shipp

(Photo courtesy of Vail Daily and Pam Boyd)

Photo Courtesy of Vail Daily Pam Boyd

John Shipp, center, is flanked by Eagle Chamber President Mick Daly (right) and Eagle Mayor Yuri Kostick (left) as he receives the 2015 Eagle Community Impact Award.

EAGLE — John Shipp, owner of The Dusty Boot and Luigi’s Pastahouse, is the winner of the 2015 Eagle Community Impact Award.

John Shipp is a founding partner in the RoadHouse Hospitality Group that owns and operates 18 restaurants around the state. He was nominated for the award by Eagle Chamber President Mick Daly and 2014 award winner Chris Cook.

The Community Impact Award was launched by the Eagle Town Board last year to honor a “town of Eagle individual, business or organization that is making a tangible, measurable impact on the community.”

In his nomination, Daly noted Shipp “is known around Eagle County for his generous support of nonprofits, sitting on their boards and supporting fundraising efforts.”

Daly cited Shipp’s involvement with the Heuga Center for Multiple Sclerosis, Walking Mountains Science Center, the Shaw Regional Cancer Center, the Vail Valley Partnership and The Cycle Effect.

“Although John is not an Eagle resident, his positive influence has been felt in our town for many years,” said Daly.

Cook’s nomination noted “John Shipp has had a major impact on the town of Eagle.” He cited how Shipp’s reigns have been the center of activities for many events and credited him for supporting “almost every special event that is his ask to help out with.”

Daly added that two of Shipp’s employees — P.J. Berg and Cameron Douglas — have been highly involved with Eagle’s marketing and events efforts.

“The Dusty Boot and Luigi’s have supported many nonprofits and events with food, beverages, space and other donations,” said Daly. He also cited Shipp’s involvement in the Eagle Chamber’s co-working project. The Simpati Co-Working space is located on the second story of Shipp’s Dusty Boot building.

Shipp was recognized with the Community Impact Award during this week’s Eagle Vision 20/20 event.

Scott Turnipseed Chris Cook

2014 - Scott Turnipseed and Chris Cook  (Photo courtesy of Vail Daily and Pam Boyd)

Eagle Mayor Yuri Kostick, center, presents the first Community Impact Award to Chris Cook, left center, and Scott Turnipseed, right center, during last week's Eagle Vision 20/20 event. Kate Rau, far left, and competitors with the Colorado High School Cycling League were also in attendance to honor Cook and Turnipseed's efforts to bring the race series to town.

From Vail Daily: 

Eagle’s inaugural Community Impact Award was presented to Scott Turnipseed and Chris Cook in recognition of their efforts to bring the Colorado High School Cycling League competition to town.

The two men’s efforts eventually resulted in construction of the popular Haymaker Trail in Eagle, which played host to the league championships last year — an honor that will be repeated next weekend.

“They planted the seed for a high school race here in Eagle years ago,” said Eagle Mayor Yuri Kostick.

The Community Impact Award honors a Town of Eagle individual, business or organization that is making a tangible, measurable impact on the community. In the case of Cook and Turnipseed, they began lobbying Colorado High School Cycling League Director Kate Rau five years ago. Through their efforts, the community learned it didn’t really have the type of trail it needed to attract the high school league, so Eagle teamed up with the developers of the proposed Haymeadow project to construct a new trail that would meet the league’s specifications.

“Truly, of all the stuff I worked on while I was a member of the town board, it is so rare to have a win/win/win project,” said Turnipseed. “But that trail is something the locals use and it helps with our efforts to promote recreation based tourism and its also works for the mountain bike kids.”


Mayor Kostick asked to implement and fund an annual Community Impact Award program. 

The Community Impact Award honors a Town of Eagle individual, business or organization that is making a tangible, measurable impact on the community. 

The Community Impact Award recipient has worked to make Eagle a better place to live, work and play, and represents the town’s creativity, resourcefulness and potential.
  1. Jeremy Gross

    Special Events Coordinator
    Phone: 970-328-9625